Fear the Falsie

falsie

I have always had a fear of false eyelashes. I have tried to use them in the past to no avail. Eventually, I gave up. I told myself that I would be better off with out them! I didn’t really start thinking about them again until I started this blog. I knew for the betterment of some of my photos, falsies were a must.

Todd and I went to Mitsuwa, a japanese market, for lunch yesterday (yum udon!). While we were on our way out, something caught my eye in their Shisheido counter. A whole rack of Callas brand false eyelashes, and they were only $2/pair. “Now’s my chance,” I thought to myself. I knew I had a little over $2 jingling in my purse. They were calling my name! I dragged Todd to the stand and started looking at all of my choices. I knew that I wanted to ease into them with a natural looking pair. There they were, #507. I took them off the rack gently, staring at them. Wow, they are made from real human hair! I couldn’t pass them up.

After we left Mitsuwa, we had to head over to the Mall too! The one by our home has a Target in it, and I needed to pick up some duo eyelash adhesive. I spent 3X the price of the lashes on glue, “ain’t” that a shame? Oh well, it is an investment! We do have a Target closer to home than the mall, but I take any excuse I can to go window shopping!

Todd and I did go into Sur La Table though, (for those of you who don’t know, baking/cooking is another passion of mine!) and Todd made some fabulous purchases. He invested in an Aeropress (we LOVE coffee!!), and two special items just for me. I will only tell you one item today because I have a surprise related to the other item that I will be posting soon… šŸ™‚ Anyway, Todd bought me an electric baking scale that was 40% off!! A BAKING SCALE YOU GUYS!! I can now make macarons along with many other things that need precise measurements! It will also help me price out some recipes…Thank you Todd!

BACK TO THE FALSE EYELASHES! I decided to hold off on the falsies until the next day. I was nervous, they were mocking me. I mustered up the courage and went for it. It took longer than I would care to admit to get them on properly, but I AM IN LOVE!! I never thought I would wear false eyelashes out in public, but I might now! They are just so beautiful. The pair that I chose do not overwhelm my hooded eyes!

I can actually say that I am excited to purchase some crazy looking ones for future posts. Stay tuned!

Product List:

  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Too Faced Romantic Eye Palette
    1. Base: Bouquet Toss
    2. Crease: Un-Veil
    3. Highlight/lid: Soulmates
  • Callas Eyelashes #507
  • Revlon Colorstay Liquid Liner in Blackest Black
  • MAC Technakohl Eyeliner in Graph Black (upper waterline)
  • MUFE Smokey Extravagant Macara (only on bottom lashes)

xoxo
Tina

 

* Ignore the fallout under my eye!
4 thoughts on “Fear the Falsie

  1. It’s easier for me to put on false lashes if I use my tweezers to hold the inner edge down while i hold the outer edge down.. then i use the tweezers to push the middle down securely..
    It used to take me FOREVER to get them on – but after I did it a few times I got the hang of it. If i havent worn them in a long time then it still takes me a minute but never as long as it used to

    • After the first few tries I grabbed my tweezers! I started in the middle though! Your technique may work easier! Thanks! šŸ™‚ It will probably take me AT LEAST 5 minutes… haha!

  2. After I saw this, and I went to Ulta, I saw that EcoTools has a bunch of different false lashes for like $5 a pair, including glue! I didnt buy any but I was super tempted…

    • I saw that too when I went and bought the fan brush!! Oh my goodness! They are adorable!! I want to buy them, but there is so many choices for $2 at Mitsuwa! I might pick up a pair in the future just to try though. I love ecotools too much not to pass it up! I just saw on their Instagram that they have their own beauty blender now too!

Leave a Reply

